10 Things About Me

1. What is your educational background? I am currently a History and Classics double major with a minor in Public History.

2. How did you become so interested in history? I am not able to point to one single event that began my love of history. My interest in history was due to a multitude of events: family vacations consisted of visiting and hiking the National Parks, Liberty Kids was one of my favorite television shows when I was growing up, reading was my favorite pastime as a child (and still is), and history was my favorite subject in school. All these events shaped and allowed my love of history to grow.

3. What is your favorite historical time period/area of study? Colonial America is definitely my favorite time period, although British history is another great interest of mine. As a history major however, I have been able to explore and study a variety of other historical time periods and different geographical locations.

4. What is The Living Historian? The Living Historian project commenced on June 4, 2017 in the form of my first Instagram post. The Living Historian was created to be a platform where I could share my passion for Gettysburg, Colonial Williamsburg, and other historical adventures through photography and writing. My hope is that The Living Historian can be a positive and welcoming haven for those who share the same love of history.

5. What type of camera do you use? It varies. I use both my iPhone as well as a Canon for all the photos that I take on Instagram. Sometimes I will travel light and use my iPhone to capture general shots. Other times when I know I want to take a great amount of photographs or want to capture certain details, I prefer to use my Canon.

6. Favorite roller coaster at Busch Gardens, Williamsburg? That’s such a tough question because I love them all! However, Verbolten has a special place in my heart because of all the thought and detail that Busch Gardens put into creating the ride. Verbolten has such a fun backstory, and of course there’s that surprise that occurs during the indoor portion of the roller coaster.

7. Favorite historic trade at Colonial Williamsburg? Another difficult question to answer because I find each one so fascinating and interesting! However, as someone who is an avid reader, I find the bindery an absolutely enthralling place. I recently had the opportunity to make my own book from scratch, and throughout the whole experience I kept thinking about the bindery in Colonial Williamsburg! (Maybe I’ll share my experience in a future post.)

8. Favorite TV show? I really enjoy Downton Abbey. I write this in the present tense because I still haven’t watched the fifth and final season of Downton Abbey. I can’t bring myself to watch it, because I don’t want it to end. I’m still mourning of the death of Matthew Crawley, but then again, who isn’t? I also enjoy Hallmark Channel’s When Calls the Heart, and am currently watching The Crown on Netflix. (Can you see a pattern here? I really enjoy historical dramas!)

9. Last recipe that you baked/cooked? I recently baked some Scottish Shortbread and Tea Cake Cookies from Edwardian Cooking: The Unofficial Downton Abbey Cookbook. It was a huge success in the household!

10. Favorite ice cream flavor? Chocolate chip cookie dough!

Bonus question: How can I stay in touch with you? Great question! The most active social media outlet that I have at present is my Instagram, where I try to post pictures regularly as possible and show you the recent historical adventures I have embarked on. You can also subscribe to my blog which is where I will document my historical adventures in depth.

 

Leave a Reply

