#WhyHistoryWednesday

A couple of weeks ago I announced that I was starting a blog series titled #WhyHistoryWednesday.

Why?

During my undergraduate a lot of my fellow history majors expressed interest in public history, but weren’t sure how to enter the field. How does one end up working in a museum or at a historic site? How does one become a curator, historian, archivist, preservationist, historical interpreter, etc.?

My account is called The Living Historian, which is where you can join me as I visit and photograph historic sites. But I realized that The Living Historian wasn’t featuring the stories of the people who worked at these sites.

Thirdly, my blog just exists, waiting for the next post. The following question popped into my mind: How could I make content relevant, engaging and refreshing?

These realizations were persistent in my mind, which is why a couple of months later I’ve decided to try and change this with #WhyHistoryWednesday. Occasionally on Wednesdays I’ll be sharing on my blog and Instagram story some of the people who are involved in preserving the past and keeping history alive!

But to do this and to continue sharing your stories, I need your help! If you are involved in living history – which I am interpreting broadly (some examples include: curator, preservationist, archivist, historian, reenactor, interpreter, docent, librarian, a student who works or interns at a museum or site, someone conducting historical research, etc.) – and would like to share your story, please reach out to me! I would love to interview and feature you!

Details: You can email me at hello.thelivinghistorian@gmail.com or direct message me on Instagram.

One thought on “#WhyHistoryWednesday

Leave a comment